Home > Current Events, Theology > Frank Turk vs. Michael Horton

Frank Turk vs. Michael Horton

I’m not a fan of Frank Turk; I think he’s condescending and occasionally mean-spirited, and I generally find the tone of the Pyromaniacs blog to be self-congratulatory and sarcastic (yeah yeah: pot/kettle/black), and his ongoing “open letters” series to be beyond the pale.

So intellectual honesty requires that I own up to this: I think he’s on to something in his open letter to Michael Horton of the White Horse Inn and other outlets [link]. Turk’s post really could have been edited for brevity and clarity; if I had to do it I might just have pulled this quote:

There is much to be gained from the Law/Gospel, imperative/indicative distinction in Scripture, but not everything is resolved by it. And one of the things which is not resolved by it is what manner of people the Gospel makes us – which is actually part and parcel of the Good News.

This could partly be summarized as “there’s not just Law and Gospel; there’s also sanctification.” Or words to that effect. I’d recommend reading the whole article and the comments at the link above; it’s a mix of “good Frank Turk” and “bad Frank Turk” and is worthwhile even for those of us who read him rarely and as such are tempted to scorn.

  1. Teresa
    February 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Well, maybe if Turk is a fan of sanctification, he can show us what that looks like for a change. I haven’t been able to get past the mean-spirited part. It tends to cancel out whatever he tries to say. Having personally been jeered at there at TeamPyro in the comments, I no longer can read the blog.

    • February 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      While I’m not sure I’d put it exactly that way, that’s one of the things about the current Reformed resurgence that worries me. I know some thoroughly sanctified Calvinists, but not many.

      • February 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

        On further reflection let me try to put this another way.

        I think Frank Turk is right in his criticism of Horton’s division of everything Scripture teaches into either Law or Gospel, and the idea of sanctification is the counterexample, or the wedge, or what-have-you. I believe both Jesus and Paul, as well as some if not all of the other epistle-writers in the New Testament, teach sanctification after salvation and exhort their hearers or readers to pursue sanctification without suggesting that their salvation hangs in the balance.

        I do tend to agree that Turk is mean-spirited, or what-have-you. I don’t know Mr Turk personally and can’t suggest why this is. I think in my mind I tend to connect his mean-spiritedness with his Calvinist leanings; I don’t know if this is fair or not. Probably not.

  1. February 22, 2011 at 12:36 pm
  2. February 22, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

