Home > Media > Christian flags; black churches

Christian flags; black churches

For reasons I won’t go into I ended up looking at this clip from Harrisburg, PA’s own Bishop Larry Harris:

There’s a lot about this clip that’s interesting, most of which I won’t comment on for fear of causing offense. As a white Southerner I’m always a little apprehensive about commenting on black church services. The history’s just too complicated and too unpleasant.

That being said, I’m surprised to see three flags on the platform off to the speaker’s right: the American Flag, the Christian Flag [link], and the Pennsylvania state flag; not the first and last so much as the one in the center. I’m accustomed to the symbolism having not just troublesome Dominionist overtones, but also racial overtones.

I guess I’ve got a lot to learn about the black church.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

