Home > Current Events > Liberty University Homecoming

Liberty University Homecoming

Liberty University Homecoming is next weekend: October 8-10, 2010 [link]. It looks like my schedule is going to clear just enough for me to drop in on the festivities parts of Saturday and Sunday. This will be the first time I’ve been to homecoming and I think the first time I will have been back on campus since Jerry died and Jerry Jr. succeeded him as Chancellor. I’m sure it’s going to be a bittersweet time at best; I didn’t actually enjoy my time there and don’t have fond memories there, but I love my alma mater and I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to have attended school there.

I was a student at Liberty a long time ago: when I was there Jonathan Falwell was a screw-up and his brother Jerry Jr was a grownup; now it looks like it’s the other way around. Then  Liberty was in transition from being a fundamentalist college to being an evangelical university; now it is apparently becoming a Republican/Tea Party university, for lack of a better term. Then there was no Liberty University Online: there was barely an Internet (and no World Wide Web) for it to exist on; there was a school-by-video program called Liberty University School of Lifelong Learning (LUSLL), but it was relatively small and experimental. Now LU Online is huge, with far more students than are on campus any given day; I will be interested to see what happens as LUO jells, has its own institutional momentum, etc. I don’t think there is a blueprint for Liberty’s current business model, much less the one it could have two, five, or ten years from now.

We will probably visit the church in its new location unless traffic is too bad or we’re too tired. Stay tuned.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

