Home > Current Events > nope, nope, and nope

nope, nope, and nope

I’m so far behind on reading other people’s blogs that Google Reader gave up on giving me a count and said I had “1000+” articles outstanding. I took a few minutes to go through some of them, pressed “Mark all as read” a few times, and stumbled onto an article from Wade Burleson [link].

The Southern Baptist Convention apparently has a blogger problem. I don’t know much about it, but there were apparently draft resolutions before the Convention at its recent meeting condemning bloggers who question authority and threatening them with something awful. I don’t know what this means, other than possibly that the Convention’s understanding of new media is (like most of ours) still in draft form.

Anyway, here’s Burleson quoting mission board Ezell regarding bloggers:

there are people across the United States who want to look for things that perhaps I do not do as well or they think we should do different, and perhaps be critical of myself or of Highview, just to try to get their name in the paper … Typically those are bloggers who live with their mother and wear a housecoat during the day.

For the record:

  • I’d prefer not to see my name in the paper; I can’t speak for the former general and public figure of the same name
  • I live with someone else’s mother, not mine
  • I do not own a housecoat

I do however wish the Southern Baptist Convention well in its dealings with media old and new.

there are people across the United States who want to look for things that perhaps I do not do as well or they think we should do different, and perhaps be critical of myself or of Highview, just to try to get their name in the paper … Typically those are bloggers who live with their mother and wear a housecoat during the day.
  1. blackwatertown
    September 27, 2010 at 4:21 am

    Oh heavens! I hadn’t realised a uniform was necessary. I’m just off out to buy a housecoat then.
    http://www.blackwatertown.wordpress.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

